How do I activate a Community Fire Refuge?

There are four Community Fire Refuges in Victoria. If one of these refuges are located in the polygon or within a 3km radius of the polygon you will have the option to activate the refuge within the Locations section of the community notification workflow. 

Community Fire Refuges should be activated in accordance with agency business rules. The option to activate refuges will only be available for fire templates at a watch & act and above warning level. You can find information on activating Community Fire Refuges for multiple area polygons here

The refuge will appear as a blue house icon on the map. 

You should check that the Refuge has been activated using the ONeClick application (found at ICCs and the SCC). You can find step by step instructions on checking the status of a Refuge in the Library - Incident Control (ICC) - Procedures - Community Fire Refuges (ICC.03). 

If the refuge has not activated then you will need to immediately call the State Control Centre and speak to the Support Team Leader or Room Manager about using the  redundancy EAS paging system to activate the refuge. 


Location of Community Fire Refuges: 

East Warburton Community Fire Refuge - 397 Woods Point Road, East Warburton

Ferny Creek Community Fire Refuge - School Road, Ferny Creek

Millgrove Community Fire Refuge - 3060 Warburton Highway, Millgrove

Blackwood Community Fire Refuge - 2 Terrill Street, Blackwood

Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.